Top 10 bowlers with most wickets in IPLTop 10 bowlers with most wickets in IPL

Top 10 bowlers with most wickets in IPL

In the IPL thus far, 11 bowlers have claimed over 150 wickets.

With great hype, the Indian Premier League (IPL) debuted in 2008 and has since grown to be the world’s most well-liked, wealthiest T20 league. Its global brand value has surpassed that of the NBA and even Premier League football.

In T20 cricket, like in the IPL, batsmen have dominated the scorecard and are widely recognized for their explosive batting displays. The most recent record broken by batters was by Sunrisers Hyderabad, who broke the mark for the greatest team total.

However, bowlers have experienced their share of bad tournament luck. Even in batting conditions, there have been times when bowlers have outperformed hitters. With 49 runs scored, Royal Challengers Bengaluru own the record for the lowest team total in the IPL. We examine the top 10 bowlers with most wickets in the IPL with this theme.

 1. Yuzvendra Chahal – 197 wickets:

yuzvendra chahal

Yuzvendra Chahal is the most all-time IPL wicket-taker. In 150 IPL games, he has 197 wickets. His best IPL bowling stats are 5/40, which he achieved against the Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2022. That performance also included a hat-trick.

In the IPL, Chahal’s economy is 7.65. He now plays for the Rajasthan Royals after formerly playing for the Royal Challengers Bengaluru.

2. Dwayne Bravo – 183 wickets:

Dwayne Bravo

With 183 wickets in 161 matches, legendary West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo is ranked second on the IPL’s all-time wicket-takers list. He had a 4/22 bowling average and an 8.38 economy rate at his peak.

Bravo, who is regarded as one of the best death-over bowlers, has IPL careers with MI, CSK, and GL. He was the first bowler to win the Purple Cap twice. Bravo, who is currently the bowling coach for CSK, declared his retirement from the IPL.

3. Piyush Chawla – 181 wickets:

Piyush Chawla – 181 wickets

When the Mumbai Indians purchased veteran leg-spinner Piyush Chawla in the IPL 2023 auction, his IPL career took a turn for the better. Chawla has formerly played for the Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings, and Punjab Kings.

He has amassed 181 wickets overall with an economy of 7.96 in 185 games. Chawla is still a useful bowler in the competition, albeit his greatest IPL bowling effort was 4/17.

4. Amit Mishra – 173 wickets:

Amit Mishra – 173 wickets in IPl

In the Indian Premier League, Amit Mishra is the only bowler with three hat-tricks. He has participated in 161 IPL games thus far and claimed 173 wickets.

His economy rate is 7.36 and his best bowling stats are 5/17. Mishra has experience as a player with Sunrisers Hyderabad, Deccan Chargers, and Delhi Capitals. Right now, he plays for the Lucknow Super Giants.

5. Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 173 wickets:

Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 173 wickets in IPL

One of the greatest pacers in Indian Premier League history, Bhuvneshwar Kumar was formerly an India cricketer. His 7.46 economy rate speaks much about his ability to use both the new and old ball.

In the IPL, “Bhuvi,” as he is lovingly called, has played for the Pune Warriors and Sunrisers Hyderabad. In the tournament, he has taken 173 wickets overall, with his best bowling stats being 5/19.

6. Ravichandran Ashwin – 172 wickets:

Ravichandran Ashwin – 172 wickets

Renowned Indian spinner Ravi Ashwin has the sixth position on the list of most wickets. Ashwin played for the Delhi Capitals, Rising Pune Supergiant, Punjab Kings, and Rajasthan Royals before making his IPL debut for the Chennai Super Kings.

In his 202 IPL games, Ashwin has claimed 172 wickets. His economy has been 7.05 and his best bowling stats are 4/34.

7. Lasith Malinga – 170 wickets:

Lasith Malinga – 170 wickets

The Mumbai Indians, led by the renowned Sri Lankan bowler Lasith Malinga, were a part of their IPL victories in 2013, 2015, 2017, and 2019.

For an extended period, he topped the IPL’s most wicket-taking bowlers ranking, claiming 170 wickets at an economy rate of 7.14 in 122 matches. His 5/13 bowling average was his best.

8. Sunil Narine – 167 wickets:

Sunil Narine – 167 wickets:

Since making his IPL debut, KKR icon Sunil Narine has been a member of the team. He has only participated in 166 games for the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

In the IPL, Narine has claimed 167 wickets at an economy of 6.74 and a best bowling stat of 5/19. He participated in the IPL championships that the Kolkata Knight Riders won in 2012 and 2014.

9. Ravindra Jadeja – 156 wickets:

Ravindra Jadeja – 156 wickets:

Throughout his career, Ravindra Jadeja has represented Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Gujarat Lions in addition to the two IPL champion teams, the Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings. He led CSK as captain in a few IPL 2022 games as well.

He joined CSK during the 2012 Indian Premier League season. In 231 appearances during his IPL career, Jadeja has claimed 156 wickets with a best bowling average of 5/16 and an economy of 7.58.

10. Jasprit Bumrah – 155 wickets:

Jasprit Bumrah – 155 wickets

Jasprit Bumrah, a pacer for the Mumbai Indians (MI), is now ranked eighth on the list of all-time IPL highest wicket-takers. He joined MI in the 2013 Indian Premier League and has been a part of the team ever since.

Bumrah has amassed 155 wickets in 125 games to far. In the competition, he has also claimed two five-wicket hauls and top bowling statistics of 5/10.


FAQ About IPL History Records:

1. Which bowler take most wickets in IPL?

Indian bowler Yuzvendra Chahal holds the record for the most wickets taken in the history of the IPL. There is List Top 10 bowlers with most wickets in IPL

2. Who scored double century in IPL?

The first double century in the Indian Premier League (IPL) was scored by Chris Gayle, the West Indian cricketer, while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). Gayle achieved this milestone on April 23, 2013, during a match against the Pune Warriors India in Bengaluru.

3. How many times RCB went to final?

RCB holds the unique record of not being able to win a single championship even though playing in all the seasons of IPL till yet. RCB did reach the finals in 2009, 2011, and the 2016 IPL.

4. Who has the most sixes in IPL history?

Chris Gayle is the player with the most sixes in IPL history, hitting an incredible 357 sixes. It’s unlikely anyone will beat his record. Following him is Rohit Sharma, captain of Mumbai Indians, with 255 sixes.


Join Our Telegram Channel for More Updates – Cricket Sutra

Follow Bite-Size Cricket News at Cricket Sutra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *